Skip to content
July 23, 2010 / Liza

Big and Small

Lots of fun things!

Yesterday, my mom and I went to this AMAZING store that sells mostly produce, flowers, and fresh cheeses and breads. Of course, I brought the Nikonator and snapped away while perusing the fruit and veggie filled aisles.

I just want to reach into the computer and eat a grapefruit every time I look at this.

I ❤ apples. True story. But I don’t really eat them in the summer because they aren’t really in season and because I’m too busy lovin’ fuzzy guys like this one…

Look at the lettuce! 🙂

While I was there, I could not help but photograph these beautiful orchids.

So that was a lovely morning! 🙂 Later, in the evening, I went out for a run and ended up running most of it with a friend who was also out running. My Map My Run mapping and time approximations tell me we ran about 4.9 miles in about 43 minutes which is in average pace of about 8:43/mile. Not bad! I definitely felt I was running faster than usual once I started running with him– ah, the beauty of running with somebody– I’m always pushing myself more; the constant competition! Have you experienced the run-faster-with-a-buddy phenomenon?

Anyway, this morning started with a delicious breakfast.

whole wheat english muffin + almond butter + 1/2 a banana + blueberries + black tea with a splash of soy milk.

Then, I took the T (Boston subway system) to run a few errands. Thoughts about the T: I was reading a book this time while I was on it, but it is such a great place to people watch. And I always feel like I’m in this place where there are all these different kinds of people with all different kinds of lives and jobs and families and friends and yet we’re all on this same inbound train going to specific places. I love the convergence of different kinds of people. And sometimes it’s interesting to think: I may have so much in common with the person standing over there but we just don’t know it.

This summer I was doing some world traveling with my family. Pre-trip, a family friend told me that the Istanbul airport is incredible because it truly IS “East Meets West” — and I got to see for myself! There were all kinds of people walking around this airport, it was amazing! Sometimes the world seems enormous, and other times it feels so small… really cool. Have you had experiences where the world either seemed big or small? Like running into people from your town halfway across the world? I LOVE that!

Happy weekend!!! 🙂

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. The Fit Collegiate / Jul 24 2010 2:51 pm

    You are a beautiful photographer! Those are some stunning shots. I’m with you…eat peaches while they’re in season. Apples can wait until September!

  2. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin / Jul 25 2010 12:41 am

    Hey Liza! Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂 I agree with Anna, your pictures are gorgeous!

    I love people watching in public places too.

  3. Meagan @ Mutritious Nuffins / Jul 25 2010 1:08 am

    Hey! I just found your blog – it looks like we have a lot in common. I’m from Southern NH, so I am kinda close to Boston and we are the same age, not to mention the obvious foodie thing 😉 I look forward to coming back to your blog!

    • Liza / Jul 25 2010 1:48 am

      Thanks for visiting, Meagan– we do have a lot in common! Love your blog!

  4. Kelsey, at Happyolks / Jul 27 2010 12:47 am

    MMM… that is my perfect breakfast on school mornings or after an easy 4-5 miler. I saw your post on “Nutrition on the Run” and thought I’d stop by because I too am a 20 year old college student/runner/health nut. 🙂 🙂 Look forward to checking back soon!

Leave a Reply

