Skip to content
July 30, 2010 / Liza

Spontaneous

Happy Friday Everybodaaay!

I got a little busier than I expected and kind of abandoned my blog for a second, but I’m back now. However, I’ve definitely realized how much blogging takes — time, effort, etc. Very good to know. But I love it so once school gets started again, I’ll be making the extra effort!

This morning, I looked at the very very sorry looking bananas on our counter and thought to myself, I’m makin’ banana bread… right now. I felt so spontaneous! So, I had recently seen this recipe on Allie’s blog and decided to sort of improvise/kind of remember the ingredients from a different recipe my friend sent me that has walnuts in it. It is sooooooo goooddddddd 🙂 Thanks Allie!

I substituted apple sauce for the avocado, walnuts for the blueberries, liquid egg whites for the egg, brown sugar for stevia, and I think I only used 1.5 cups of whole wheat flour…? And I basically just mashed the bananas in a bowl and then just dumped everything in and mixed it up. My friend (the one with the other banana bread recipe) taught me that you can really just throw anything in and kind of improvise as long as the consistency is good. And I baked it for almost an hour. Oh, and I topped it with some raw sugar for that crispy sugary top, yum 🙂

While it was baking, I sipped black tea with a little soy milk and a little honey and when it was ready, I had breakfast!

I had a slice with almond butter on top and a sliced peach on the side. Perfect.

It was delicious.

In other news, does anybody else feel like the summer is getting away? August is fast approaching which means only one more month of summer! True, I am looking forward to many many things this coming semester and year, but it’s always sad when it feels like the summer is ending!

So, I decided to make a list of things I want to do before the summer’s over. I made one of these at the beginning of the summer and have definitely done a few things, but there’s still more time and more things I want to do. My list includes things like kayaking and hiking, reading quite a few books, seeing certain movies, (Eat Pray Love!!!!!), and taking a day trip to a town we love to visit. I hope I’ll be able to do all of these things before september!

What do you want to do before the summer is over? There’ still time! 🙂

Have a great weekend!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Allie (Live Laugh Eat) / Jul 30 2010 9:08 pm

    Thanks for the shoutout! Wow your banana bread looks great!! Doesn’t improvising make you feel like a real baker or sumthin’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

