Skip to content
August 6, 2010 / Liza

Rolling With It

Yesterday, my friends, I rolled with it, and it was lovely.

I had heard that the weather was supposed to be pretty awful, but of course, I always … and I mean always… think to myself, “Oh, it’s fine, it won’t rain while I’m outside, I’ll just walk quickly, whatever.” And always… and I mean always… the rain comes and I seriously regret my decision while laughing at myself for yet again, giving in to the very temporary desire to not lug around an umbrella.

Anyway, as I left my internship it was already raining. I could have waited, but then you never know how long that will last! So, I walked, and within about 15 seconds, a monsoon proceeded to storm from the skies. Of course, I was bummed because I was about to be soaked– but I also realized that this was not a cold rainy day, this was a hot rain; somewhat like taking a shower… but in your clothes… on the sidewalk… walking by many many people…

Anyway, I also quickly realized: there is nothing I can do about this… so I might as well enjoy getting drenched. So, I rolled with it. And it was wonderful. I arrived at the T stop with hardly a dry inch of clothing on my body and when I got home, I changed and got nice and dry and drank some chai tea.

But, there’s more… haha. The monsoon continued and the thunder approached as my mom and I sat at the kitchen table. I was readin’ blogs and all that… and the power flickered a few times, and then about 15 minutes later, completely went out. My mom and I were laughing our heads off because it was just nuts.

So, there we were: no power, no computer, no light, no A/C, no oven, and no cell phone signal for a little while. So, we rolled with it. With nothing else to do, and the world storming outside, I read Eat Pray Love (What a truly special book. Inspiring and life-changing.) for about 2 hours. And it was wonderful. And when the power came back on, and the rain and thunder was gone, the sun was out and I went out for a wonderful 4 miler before dinner.

Rolling with it is very noteworthy to me because it is not really my strong suit. I like knowing what’s going to happen and I like to be in control of situations. I’m very proud of myself for rolling with it. 🙂

Do you tend to roll with it? Or do you like to be more in control?

Okay…. FOOD! 🙂

Last night, with some leftover tahini (sesame seed paste), I made some cookies! And they’re yummy! The first bite might seem a bit new to the taste buds, but once you’re used to it — MMMM!!!!!

I wasn’t sure where my aunt’s recipe was so I found this one and this one, but in the end, decided to just combine some of the ideas I got from those and sort of make my own…? It’s fun!

So I threw together:

1 cup tahini

1 cup + a little more whole wheat flour

about 3/4 cup of honey

1/2 cup old-fashioned oats

1 egg

an embarrassing amount of cinnamon

dash of salt

dash of vanilla

baked at 350 for 12-14 minutes!

These are very dense cookies, but delish!

On to breakfast…

It was deliciousness in all forms.

greek yogurt + 1/2 a banana + blueberries + 1/4 cup oats + 1 T almond butter + drizzle of maple syrup = 🙂

Yay! It’s Friday! Have any fun plans?

Oh, also, if you haven’t tried these…

Get thee to a grocery store. And buy them. Now. Please. 🙂 They are all kinds of yumminesssss.

Happy weekend! 🙂

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Meagan @ Mutritious Nuffins / Aug 6 2010 3:20 pm

    That sounds a lot like me. I struggle not having some sort of schedule or plan throughout the day. That sounds like a fun day!

  2. betterwhenweretogether / Aug 7 2010 10:00 pm

    Hey! Just came across your blog and I love it! So healthy and inspiring 🙂 the names Ashley and I’m definatly going to use a bunch of your recipe in the future! Have a great day 🙂

    • Liza / Aug 8 2010 10:38 am

      Thanks for stopping by, Ashley! 🙂

Leave a Reply

