Skip to content
August 8, 2010 / Liza

Kitchen Fiesta

Hey everybody!

I hope you’ve all been having a lovely weekend. Mine has been pretty great. 🙂

Saturday started off with this glorious bowl of cereal featuring my new love… almond milk.

1/2 cup Puffins + 1/2 cup Barbara’s Shredded Spoonfuls + 2 T wheat germ + a banana + almond milk = soooooo greeeeatttt.

The rest of my morning involved finishing Eat Pray Love. A word about this book: If you have not read it, please do. I started reading it a while back and stopped because I was bored. I think that I wasn’t really ready to understand it or appreciate it or be inspired and changed by it. All of which have happened as a result of not being able to put it down this time around. I found it extremely powerful and truly loved reading it. And I can’t wait to see the movie too! 🙂

Anyway, last night I got to see one of my very good friends from high school– I love being able to reconnect and hang out in the summer, it’s great. But before that, my dad and I tackled 20 miles on the bikes! 🙂 Not bad at all (read: very few hills :)). I wiped out once and scraped my leg — it’s not bad at all, but it is so scary to fall off a bike! I just saw it all happening in slow motion… yikes, not fun.

This morning, I got to see one of my friends from college too! I took her to Sofra where I went earlier this summer with my mom and brother. It was delicious!

soft boiled egg + tomato + cucumber + olives + little pita + greek yogurt with strawberry on top + feta cheese cubes which I didn’t eat much of.

+ a perfect unsweetened iced mint tea!

It’s very fun and different there– not your typical restaurant. I ❤ the mediterranean feel.

Anyway, later on, after we hung out a little bit, walked around a mall, we ended up at Red Mango for froyo of course!

plain + blueberries + graham cracker crumbs = froyo never ceases to make me happy.

And apparently Liza sounds like…

Leslie… ? Really? I mean, people mispronounce my name as either Liza (Leeza) or Lisa. But I guess I must have been speaking really quietly? Haha. 🙂

So, there have been many things I’ve been wanting to make in the kitchen lately, and I decided today was the day! I present to you… KITCHEN FIESTAAAAA!!!!

After recently seeing lots of bloggers makin’ granola like Hillary,  I began the festivities with some homemade granola sort of based on hers, but sort of different!

Yummy Granola:

2 cups old-fashioned oats

2 cups Kashi 7-grain puffs

1/3 cup ground golden flax

1 cup chopped pecans

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/2 cup apple sauce

2 dashes vanilla

1 cup raisins

I preheated the oven to 350. I mixed the dry ingredients (not raisins) and set aside. Then I mixed the wet ingredients and poured them into the dry ones and mixed it all up. I poured the mixture into a big glass baking dish and baked for 25 minutes at 350 stirring every now and then with a wooden spoon. Once I took it out of the oven, I added the raisins. YUM!

Next up? 50 points if you can guess what this is…

That’s right. After checkin’ this out on Heather’s blog, I decided it was time to make some homemade… RAW ALMOND BUTTER! Literally, it’s as simple as Heather says on her recipe; you just put raw almonds in the food processor and wait (and scrape down sides) for … hmmmm, mine took about 20 minutes or a little more. But look!

Pretty good, right?

I’ve had raw almond butter before, but not in a while. It’s verrrry good! I’ve been lovin’ the TJ’s almond butter which is roasted, but I plan on switching off now. 🙂

And last but not least, after seeing this recipe on Caroline’s blog, I decided to try it! My recipe is almost exactly the same. And I got this yumminess!

Into the food processor:

1 can chickpeas

2 teaspoons sesame seeds (no tahini left!)

a bunch of little tomatoes … maybe like 10?

a handful of fresh basil leaves

some salt and pepper shakes

juice of 1/2 a lemon

I ❤  it!

Phew! Lot’s of kitchen fun and lot’s of yumminess to eat now 🙂

Off for a run! See you!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Heather Eats Almond Butter / Aug 8 2010 9:31 pm

    Oh my gosh – that last recipe sounds like pesto hummus, and I bet it’s delicious. I must make that someday soon!

    So glad the raw almond butter worked for ya – it really is so easy, and yours looks especially creamy.

    Almond milk – my favorite non-dairy milk too! It’s the only one that I enjoy drinking straight-up. Most of the others require Puffins. 😉

    Enjoy your week! 🙂

    • Liza / Aug 8 2010 10:20 pm

      Thanks, Heather! You too! 🙂
      The hummus did turn out pretty good, might need a little garlic though!

  2. Jennifer / Aug 8 2010 9:49 pm

    Awesome on the 20 mile bike ride! I love doing long bike rides with my husband. We’ve got so many great trails around here.

  3. Meagan @ Mutritious Nuffins / Aug 9 2010 3:30 pm

    That meal looks delicious!

  4. basement water damage / Aug 24 2014 3:45 am

    I am truly thankful to the owner of this web page who has shared
    this wonderful post at at this place.

Leave a comment