Skip to content
August 9, 2010 / Liza

Professions

Good evening ya’ll πŸ™‚

Phew! What a Monday. A very interesting day indeed.

I’ve been thinking lately about what I plan on doing with my life — i.e. after college. I’m certain that I’ll do some more school time but have no idea what kind of degree and profession I want to pursue. I realize that I have time, but I go back and forth between thinking I don’t need to know right now, and thinking I do! Sometimes I feel the pressure of wanting/needing to know and sometimes I feel very relaxed– happy to enjoy studying what I want to study right now. (My major is an interdisciplinary biology-psychology major which my school calls the Biological Basis of Behavior. Very cool. Love it.)

Anywho, everybody always asks me if I’m pre-med and I always tell them that I’m not. Truth be told, it constantly becomes clearer and clearer to me that I really DO NOT want to be a doctor… so at least I know what I don’t wanna be, right? Step in the right direction, no? πŸ˜‰

Basically, I think it’s so important that I continue to think and struggle with this because it means that I’m trying to figure out what makes me excited. Because my ultimate goal (and this is some kind of quote from somewhere), is to love my job so much that I don’t feel like I’m “working.” This may be somewhat of an exaggeration… but maybe not? Why can’t I find a job that I just really really really enjoy. That’s not to say it won’t be challenging– but that will be part of the fun of it.

I’ve also come to realize that choosing a profession does NOT in any way lock me into that profession “for life,” as it were. According to my dad, there’s research about how common it is becoming to have more than one career in a lifetime. I’ve also learned this from my wonderful parents who have so gracefully switched careers or switched jobs when they were presented with new opportunities or were not satisfied with their job at the time. Inspiring.

So, all I can really do now is keep learning, discovering what I like, and learning about the kinds of professions out there that I might be interested in! I’m sure this is just the beginning of figuring it out. Exciting! πŸ™‚

Anyway, happy Monday everybody, I hope your week is off to a great start, and I hope you have a wonderful rest of the week. Here’s a bright, magenta flower to look at. πŸ™‚

See ya!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jennifer / Aug 10 2010 4:35 pm

    It’s definitely not an exaggeration to love your job so much that you don’t feel like you are working. Before my husband and I were married, I owned a dance school. I taught ages 3 and up and loved every minute of it. Was it easy? No because I was the owner, financial person, and only instructor. But in the end, to see my students perform in a show made it all worth it. But I do agree that there is such jobs out there that you wake up looking forward to going to. You’ll figure it out I’m sure!

  2. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self / Aug 11 2010 7:51 pm

    I think you are well on your way to finding your dream job. You are so much more self-aware and self-reflective than probably half your peers, and that’s often the biggest part of the battle! And it’s awesome that your parents have been such good role models in this regard. πŸ™‚

    • Liza / Aug 11 2010 10:53 pm

      Thank you, Katie! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

