Skip to content
August 15, 2010 / Liza

High Tea

I had a wonderful, very special afternoon.

I went with my mom, my friend, and her mom, who is one of my mom’s friends, to the Four Seasons Boston for Afternoon High Tea! I’ve done this once before with my mom and it wa such a blast– very fancy and delicious and relaxing. We had great conversation and lingered for more than 2 hours! It was perfect.

There were all sorts of amazing goodies. 🙂

Sugar sticks to stir into tea.

We all ordered the “Russian Caravan” tea… it was delicious!

Yummy bread– ciabatta and cranberry walnut.

Spreads: lemon curd, strawberry jam, and devonshire cream.

Mini blueberry lemon loaves.

And the best scone I’ve ever had in my life– white chocolate-cherry. (Didn’t taste the white chocolate? Who cares! It was fan-freakin’-tastic.)

And of course, the ladies!

Being a health nut and all, I sometimes struggle with eating things that are obviously not what I eat on a regular basis. Sometimes it’s hard for me to do it– it stresses me out, to be honest. But sometimes, I’m able rise above it and say to myself– hey, this is such a wonderful afternoon with wonderful people and wonderful conversation and wonderful food– what is bad about that? And besides, sometimes it’s absolutely crucial to remember how good butter is! 🙂 Jenna recently posted a beautiful post that I really needed to hear about balance and not being totally neurotic about eating healthfully 100% of the time. It really spoke to me when she wrote: “I think that my blog is a healthy living blog BECAUSE I bake cookies with butter in them.” This is great. I’m working on staying balanced and keeping perspective and knowing that eating decadent foods in moderation is OKAY and NECESSARY to lead a healthy life in body AND mind. AMEN!

Anywayyyyyyy, I snapped a couple shots of Boston Common — isn’t it beeoooootiful?

Swan Boats!

Happy Sunday night! 🙂

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. SheFit / Aug 15 2010 8:32 pm

    Yes, sometimes it is hard to eat those “unhealthy” foods but it’s always good to find that balance. I struggled with that for so long. Just recently have I let go and enjoyed times with friends and eating what is there. Moderation and Balance are key!

Leave a Reply

