Skip to content
August 17, 2010 / Liza

Commitment

Good evening everybody! I hope you’re all having a wonderful week so far.

Today, after enjoying another cookie dough Larabar, and after seeing that Megan made her own using Mama Pea’s amazing recipe (Thanks, Sarah!!!!!), I decided to try these lovelies for myself.

Seriously, these are incredible– as good as if not better than the Larabar version. The only things I changed was that I used cashews like the Larabar instead of almonds, and since I saw that Megan wanted a lil’ more chocolate, I used 1/4 cup + a few more instead of 1/8 cup.

Not to mention, from start to clean-up while they chilled took a little over a half hour– so quick! Mine are little skinny and long so some kind of fell apart but they are SO. DELICIOUS. Basically, make these!

In other news, you may or may not know that I signed up to run my first half marathon in late November. I was getting super psyched about it and was really looking forward to it… but I have decided not to run it.

You also may or may not know that I’m a member of a dance group at my school which is very very special to me– as much for the dancing as for the people I’ve met by joining.

As it turns out, our big semester show is the Friday and Saturday night before my was-to-be half marathon at 7 am Sunday morning.

For a little while, I entertained the idea of toughin’ it out — of course you can do this, Liza! No big! Just get enough sleep 2 nights before, and try to squeeze in three morning runs during the week before!

It is FAR too easy for me to entertain thoughts like this when I’m not in “school mode.” I do it with everything — oh, I’ll totally be able to juggle a-b-c, x-y-z, and j-k-l-m-n-o-p while I take 4 course and lab!

The reality is twofold:

1. The week before the show consists of 5-to-midnight rehearsals, and every waking hour not in class or rehearsal selling tickets and dancing outside to promote the show. And saturday night, the last show, ends around 10:30, then we take down all the ginormous lights, bring them back to the performing arts storage place, shower the profoundly large amounts of sweat from ourselves and go to sleep because we’re so frickin’ exhausted go to the after-party. Aka… a boiling cauldron brimming with the best potion for an awful first half marathon.

3. But the most important reason why training and running would be a bad choice is that I made a commitment to my group and trying to train during “Hell Week” (as we call it), or not going to the after-party doesn’t show my dedication nor does it show how much I love this group and the people in it and how thankful I am to be a part of it. I was aware of this all along, but for some silly reason, I thought I could pull it off. But my parents, upon giving me their two cents on the issue, simply said that I made a commitment to Funk (my dance group). Ultimately, it was my decision, but I know deep down that I must honor my commitment to the group and that that is what will make me most happy. And I don’t want to miss out on one little ounce of Hell Week — while it’s grueling, it’s also so fun because it’s impossible not to bond.

Commitment is a theme that has come up many times in my life– have you ever struggled with a commitment or had to give-up something because  you were committed to something else?

Happy hump-day-in less-than-two-hours! 🙂

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Mama Pea / Aug 17 2010 11:55 pm

    I’m glad you liked the bars! I think they are tastier than the original too 😉

Leave a Reply

