Skip to content
August 20, 2010 / Liza

Pancakes, Pizza, and Pie!!!!!!

Oh, it’s the truth.

First, I started off my day with some absolutely deliciously amazinggggg oatmeal pancakes per Kath’s recipe and video! šŸ™‚ I sued old-fashioned oats so I had ’em soaking overnight, added 1/2 a smashed banana in the AM, and splash for almond milk to loosen it up a bit.

Topped with almond butter and drizzle of real maple syrup, and garnished with a strawberry.

These are so darn healthy and so darn delicious, I can’t believe it.

After a doctor’s appointment, and trip to Costco (so much fun), my mom and I headed over to The Prana Cafe — a raw vegan restaurant which is owned by the same couple that owns the yoga studio next door which I go to!

Look at these on the tables! They’re double-sided. Love it! šŸ™‚

This was my second time here, and today, I opted for the pizza!

It had marinara sauce, pesto, vegan cheese, onions (which I usually hate, but liked on this actually!), mushrooms and tomatoes. It was served with a side salad.

It was quite good! And I love knowing that everything is so nutritious and healthy.

My mom and I also shared one scoop of raw vegan almond chocolate chunk ice cream and small taste of the mint chip because the waiter was nice. šŸ™‚ Very good!!!!

After some more errands, bopping around from place to place gettin’ things done, I came home to bake.

Tonight, my family is going over to our friends’ house for dinner and we are in charge of dessert. Being peach season and all, my mom suggested I make a peach pie! (Oh, I’m usually the dessert maker these days.) Seeing as how I had just seen Jenna make a beautiful peach pie, I decided I would love to make one too.

Now, let me tell you, this was a great experience. It was difficult and it was fun and it was an experiment. It looks good, but … not great, haha. My crust was too dry and the lattice top was a little finnicky to make. But I think it’ll taste good!

To make my pie, I enlisted help from all sides:

Crust: Bob’s Red Mill — a crust using whole wheat pastry flour. (PS I used margarine because we needed it to be non-dairy.)

Filling: The lovely Jenna! Thanks, Jenna! I loved doing the egg wash too!

Lattice work: Betty Crocker cook book, oh yes. This may sound silly considering it’s pretty much straight forward but I was nervous, so I read the two sentences where it explains how to do it. šŸ™‚

Final product?

VOILA!!!!!

Happy weekend, ya’ll!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kate / Aug 22 2010 8:02 pm

    Hey girl, I’m another college-age blogger who just started up recently šŸ™‚ Your pictures look great, what kind of camera are you using? All that food looks soooo yummy!

    • Liza / Aug 22 2010 8:16 pm

      Hey Kate! Nice to meet you! Thanks for visiting my blog šŸ™‚
      I have a Nikon D3000 DSLR and I love it!!! Totally worth the splurge šŸ™‚

  2. dcwright02 / Aug 23 2010 9:33 pm

    love pancakes!! my favorite breakfast made even better since I started eating clean. I know have several ‘cake recipes up my sleeve and can’t wait to try another. And thanks for the PB idea… I never thought to put that on top of pancakes! If you wanna check out my health blog it’s linked at the top of my main blog: Food, Cycling & Sweat. Thanks for all the great posts!

Leave a Reply

