Skip to content
August 31, 2010 / Liza

Peaceful

The only way I can describe yesterday is peaceful.

I went with my friend to the beach and it was a truly relaxing, peaceful, happy, magical, day.

We lay down on our towels in the hot sun, read our books, played in the cold, refreshing water jumping waves, and sat on rocks by a cliff overlooking the ocean talking and reading. It was wonderful.

It made me realize anew how much I love being in nature and how much I love being able to look outside a window and see a big expanse of water. It reminded me to be thankful and to be content and to be peaceful– wonders for my mental health. It made me really think about where I’ll end up living when I’m older. I think I want to live by a big body of water (ocean or very large lake) with hiking trails not too far away. But I also want to be close to civilization, you know?

Where do you want to live when you grow up?

This morning I decided to do a shorter run, about 2.9 miles, and boy was I glad. My legs were just not feelin’ it today. Not sure why, but sometimes you have to just accept it and celebrate the run anyway.

I came home and made a nice, cool, breakfast…

A green smoothie! (Or green monster as it is commonly known in the blogosphere.)

This bad boy packed 1 banana + a little less than a cup of frozen spinach + 1 cup almond milk + 1 T almond butter + handful of ice + splash of water. REFRESHING!

The rest of the day has been spent scrambling all over to get last minute stuff for school, eating lunch with my mom at the Whole Foods salad bar (yay!!!), and getting a haircut.

Now, packing?!

We shall see. 🙂

Have a great day, ya’ll!

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kate / Aug 31 2010 3:12 pm

    Haha wow I did the EXACT same things today: exercise, haircut, Whole Foods salad bar with my mom. Weird! I just started making green monsters recently and I love them.

    Oh. By the way. I tried the Dark Chocolate Dreams this morning 🙂 that stuff is goooood.

  2. Liza / Aug 31 2010 3:23 pm

    So basically, we’re twins! Haha Crazy! Isn’t Whole Foods salad bar fantastic?! The tofu! 🙂
    When do you head back to school?

  3. glutenfreemuse / Aug 31 2010 3:39 pm

    OMG, your GM and nut butters look fantastic! How do you like Justin’s Maple Almond Butter? I’ve been tempted to try it, but don’t want to stray from my homemade stuff 🙂

    ~Alyssa

    • Liza / Aug 31 2010 4:14 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Alyssa!
      So I haven’t opened it but have tried it once before and lovedddd it. I say you give it a try! 🙂

  4. nellatight / Aug 31 2010 5:36 pm

    Hi, just found your blog 🙂 We have lots in common. Running, dancing, health nutting, college juniors…

    Love your nut butter trio from the last post. I have about 10 jars of nut butter at the moment, haha. I’m seriously crazy! PB&Co never lets me down though. You need to try White Chocolate Wonderful, Bee’s Knees, and Mighty Maple too!

    • Liza / Aug 31 2010 7:44 pm

      We DO have lots in common! What kind of dancing do you do?

      And White Chocolate Wonderful is definitely on nut-butters-to-buy list. 🙂

  5. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin / Aug 31 2010 7:31 pm

    I actually kind of want to live in my hometown when I’m older! It is on a lake, has awesome hiking trails nearby, is 20 minutes away from Whole Foods, and has good shopping. It’s pretty much perfect haha! 😀

    2.9 miles is still an awesome run!

    • Liza / Aug 31 2010 7:42 pm

      Sounds pretty perfect! 🙂 Haha. I love where I live for its proximity to everything from grocery stores to a major metropolitan area (Boston) but I think I’m looking for something a tiny bit more rural!

  6. Candice / Aug 31 2010 11:01 pm

    You day yesterday sounds absolutely perfect. I love peaceful days like that.

    I am currently debating the question of where I want to live. My husband and I live in a smallish city, and I get so frustrated sometimes because we don’t have access to much. For instance, I really need a new workout tank, but we searched all over town and found nothing tonight. So I’ll have to drive an hour to the city sometime to get one. On the other hand, I like living in a smaller city because it’s peaceful and there isn’t a lot of traffic etc.

    Not yet sure which one wins out!

  7. Jen / Sep 1 2010 1:12 pm

    I never thought of adding nut butter to my green monster, awesome idea!!! Oh man, Whole Foods salad bar is heaven on earth!!

    Jen
    http://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

