Skip to content
September 7, 2010 / Liza

Accomplished

Today, my friends, is my last day of summer– and while I am sad and a little nostalgic, I am also very much looking forward to all that this year may bring.

I feel very comfortable and happy in Philly, at school, in my house, with my friends, but there is no way around that feeling of plunging into an abyss — THE SCHOOL YEAR. Not a scary abyss, just… an abyss. It’s the unknown– and it’s actually quite exciting.

But before I look forward, I’ve been looking back on my summer and what I’ve accomplished and have realized that I’m pretty proud of myself for how I’ve grown and what I’ve discovered this summer. Some of the things I’m most proud of include…

1. Starting this blog — I had been reading blogs for a few months and while my internship was a little slow to start, I decided, you know what? I’m going to start my own– this community looks absolutely incredible, comprised of people with whom I have a lot in common and can learn a lot from.

2. Buying a DSLR and enjoying taking photos of anything from food to flowers– I still feel like I know very little about photography, but bottom line? It makes me happy to take photos. And I’m so glad I found that happiness.

3. Discovering how interested I am in nutrition and wellness– Being a Junior in college means that yes, I do have lots of time to figure out what I’m going to do with my life, but it also means that I’ve started to really think about what makes me tick and how to turn that into a profession. I want what I do to be what I love and I’ve realized that nutrition and wellness– mind and body– are really important things to me and I love talking about them and learning about them. So, I feel like I’ve opened up a new door for myself in terms of what kind of work I will do in life and that is really exciting.

And that’s just a taste of some of the big ones. 🙂

And now, I’m looking forward to growing and learning lots more this coming year– how awesome!

How about some eats, now?

Breakfast was a yummy bowl of oat bran. 🙂 Mmmmm.

I cooked it with almond milk + water + cinnamon and topped it with 1/2 a banana + 1 dollop of pumpkin butter + 1 T Justin’s maple almond butter.

Funny enough, the best lighting in my house is on my bed right next to the window so I get to eat breakfast in bed– it’s super fun. Haha.

Lunch was also a winner.

Green bell pepper slices + baby carrots + a wrap with spicy hummus, feta, and lettuce.

I finished lunch with an unpictured apple and some Justin’s. SO GOOD!

Alrighty then, so long summer! See ya in May!

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Megan / Sep 7 2010 5:55 pm

    I’m a junior too! Your oatbran looks awesome… so awesome that I am putting it on my grocery list. And Justin’s Maple is my all-time FAVE!! Good luck with starting school this year! I was hesitant to transition but it helps to just jump right in and get going 🙂

    • Liza / Sep 7 2010 11:01 pm

      I’m addicted to Justin’s Maple right now! 🙂 So good!
      And you won’t regret trying oat bran, I like it so much more than old fashioned oats actually.
      Isn’t it crazy to be a junior? I kinda can’t believe it!

  2. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine / Sep 8 2010 8:33 am

    Summer feels soooo far away now!! It’s my favorite season and I always hate to see it go 😦 Hope you have a great start to your year!!

  3. Virginia Israel (Grandma) / Sep 8 2010 4:01 pm

    Lize, I’m just about to have lunch and thought i’d check your blog, Wow, I wish I could eat that bowl of fruit and the wrap right off the screen. Do you realize how real and fresh those raspberries and blueberries look? Incredible photos Lize. Keep it up. LOL Grandma

  4. Virginia Israel (Grandma) / Sep 8 2010 4:03 pm

    And Lize, HAPPY HOLIDAYS, good luck with your services and we’ll talk soon. LOL Grandma

  5. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin / Sep 8 2010 6:01 pm

    That’s awesome that blogging has opened your eyes to some possible careers! It’s done the exact same thing for me. I actually switched from science to nutrition because blogging helped me realize my passions. What are you taking in university? 🙂

  6. Jen / Sep 9 2010 2:39 pm

    Your pictures look awesome!!! Love the wrap. Yummm!

    Jen
    http://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

