Skip to content
June 28, 2011 / Liza

Figuring It Out

Good Morning!

So, I have been trying to capture my breakfasts for some time now. But the lighting was just not happening and I wanted to avoid standing on my stoop with my breakfast on the stairs snapping pics. Anyway, I had seen light boxes on many blogs and that got me thinking… I figured out that since I have 3 very bright lights around my desk, I can point them all where I want, and then hold up my computer (a white Macbook) to serve as a white wall while a take a picture with my other hand! Confused? Haha. The down side are that the pictures still aren’t nearly as good as with natural light and that I don’t get to manually focus like I like to, but cest la vie.

Enough of that… breakfast was delicious! I have been really into bowls of cereal with frozen blueberries lately (so refreshing!), but today I was craving an award winning combo.

whole wheat pita with almond butter and banana... a classic!

In other news, I went to yoga yesterday and the studio that I go to here in Philly is both very similar and very different from my studio at home in Boston. One thing that I was quite skeptical about when I started going to this Philly studio was their chanting of a specific mantra at the end of each class just before saying namaste. Communal chanting of mantras tends to seem a bit much to me. But, I tried to keep an open mind I asked the teacher what it was after my second class because I didn’t know it and couldn’t chant it. When I looked it up at home, I was struck by the beauty of its meaning. So, I wanted to share it with you because I love it and hope you do too and also because I think its interesting and can have different interpretations depending on how you think about it.

Lokah Samasta Sukhino Bhavantu

May all beings everywhere be happy and free and may the thoughts, words and actions of my own life contribute in some way to that happiness and to that freedom for all.

What does this quote mean to you?

Have a wonderful Tuesday! šŸ™‚

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Clair / Feb 3 2012 5:56 pm

    1. That breakfast looks amazing. Bananas and nut butter is just a stellar combo.
    2. I totally understand why it would be a little weird to do a group mantra. But you’re right, it’s lovely! I try to remember that peace and other good things begin within ourselves, and that’s the first place we can do good…that’s where this mantra takes me.

Leave a Reply

